Mud…

I waited patiently for God to help me: then He listened and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the pit of despair, out from the bog and the mire, and set my feet on a hard, firm path and steadied me as I walked along. He has given me a new song to sing, of praises to our God.” Psalms 40: 1-3

Squeelllish–auk! Shwisquel–thok!

Oops! That’s my feeble attempt to recreate the sound of my Wellington-clad feet stepping and sucking back out of the muddy quagmire the barnyard has become as torrential downpours assault the Northeast. It is not a pretty picture. Neither is Sargent Feathers’ striking pompadour when it’s weighted down with rainwater but, like my beloved rooster, I hold my head up high and carry on.

Or at least make it look as though I am.

The bog and the mire, as it says in the Psalm I quoted above. That describes both the barnyard and, some days–many days–my heart, as I continue to search for full-time work off the farm and battle what I am beginning to suspect is a form of discrimination at the current job. Because my position is tough to fill, having found someone (moi) who is reliable and does the job well, the powers-that-be seem intent on keeping me in this part-time evening/weekend slot. I keep getting told I am under-qualified for every full-time position that opens up even as I was told when I got this current position that I was a little over-qualified for it (??!!?). Most days I don’t really mind much. With a farm to run, classes to “attend” (online), and still pushing forward to start a business that utilizes goats as an environmentally-friendly mode of clearing land of unwanted vegetation, I have a pretty full plate. But, as those little hiccoughs occur–you know the ones, those unexpected expenses that crop up from time to time–sometimes it’s tough not to get overwhelmed. And, yes, just a little depressed. It’s worse when I see someone fresh out of high school with no qualifications whatsoever sliding into these same positions.

Grrr!

However, I believe He has a plan in place, even if I cannot see what it is yet. And, while my trust is always hard-won, I am placing that trust in Him…even as I listen to the “squeelllish-auk” of my Wellington-clad feet meandering the muddy quagmire of life.

May God bless you & keep you!

Leave a Reply

