No Plan B

If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done. God’s ways are as mysterious as the pathway of the wind, and as the manner in which a human spirit is infused into the little body of a baby while it is yet in its mother’s womb. Keep on sowing your seed, for you never know which will grow–perhaps it all will.” Ecclesiastes 11:4-6

This one has slammed me over the head enough times, this advice about not waiting for the ‘perfect’ conditions. But this is the first time someone has pointed this out as being from the Bible. Who knew? And I thought I knew my Bible pretty well. I think this just became my verse for the year 2017.

I am a chronic procrastinator. I’ve blogged about that before but it bears repeating. It is one of the reasons it took me so many years to become a regular blogger–I kept putting if off, waiting for that moment of inspiration; that “Aha!” moment; that monumental breakthrough in faith, in homesteading, in whatever. Sure, confidence issues play a part in it. They always do. But, the secret to this is, that the more we procrastinate, the more our confidence wanes. When we procrastinate, we give voice to that little guy with the pitchfork on our shoulders telling us we can’t do this now; it’s not the perfect time. Or, worse, we can’t do it. Period. We start to doubt ourselves. We even start to doubt our Maker. All those gifts are for other people. We forget that we are His children, too. And, if we knock, the door shall be opened unto us.

Of course, we also have to do the work. We have to show up every day. In my case, that means I have to write every day if I want to be a writer. Not just this blog, but work on the stories in my head…and in my heart…that are begging to be written. As a homesteader, I have to plant seeds each spring, water, weed, prune, etc. if I want a healthy, working, thriving homestead. And not just a small scattering (albeit, for those would-be homesteaders just starting out, starting small is better than getting overwhelmed with too much at once…), but a healthy expansion, as my skills and experience with growing my food, and canning, preserving, etc. grows. If I want to spin my own fiber, it means pulling my head out of my backside and re-connecting with those who are more experienced with spinning and weaving and can teach me. It means knitting more, rather than waiting until two weeks before the holidays and then cramming with clumsy hands, work that has become unfamiliar. Baby steps, maybe, as funds and time constraints allow, but steps nonetheless. There will never be “perfect” conditions, only the conditions I give myself…both good and bad.

So, what is “No Plan B”? Exactly that. This is what I want most in life: to write and to homestead. So no “settling” for second-best. I’m working with what I have right here and now. The “perfect” conditions will show up as I do.

Not just a slam over the head to quit procrastinating but also a serious motivator to get back on that proverbial horse again. For too long I have allowed fear and self-doubt to rule. No more. And, while I’ve jokingly begged an accountability partner, in a way, that’s still waiting for the perfect conditions. The good Lord will keep me accountable…by rewarding my efforts when I make them, and leaving me in this limbo when I don’t.

May God bless you & keep you!

Leave a Reply

