Crash and Burn

It has been so long since I’ve had a bout of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome that I’d almost forgotten what it feels like when it clocks me. But clock me it did this week. I’ve been down for the count, feeling a little like a lazybones but, overall, not caring a fig.

Too many late-nights, staying up until 2 a.m. either painting, knitting or looming, just before the holidays, took its toll. And, while I am happy with the end results–and those family members and friends I gave these creations to also seem happy with them–this is a much more solid lesson in not procrastinating. I waited until the last minute and then had to “cram”. Not only did it take some of the fun out of the holiday season, it rendered me nearly useless for a couple of days.

Monday I woke up before the alarm, took care of my fur- and feather-babies, ate breakfast, and felt like I had run a marathon. A quick look in the bathroom mirror showed a pale and extremely drawn expression; my whole face looked like it was drooping onto the floor. Mom commented on it the moment she came downstairs. I almost never take naps; when I do, I usually have trouble falling asleep later in the evening so, really, I all but avoid them. Not this time. I don’t think I could have. We’ve all heard the expression “trembling with fatigue”; I went back upstairs around 10 a.m. and crashed for a couple of hours. When I awakened, I felt better but the head was still “swimming”. However, too long in any one position and these old knees start to ache and cramp. (And damned if I don’t sound like one my grandmothers with that remark…) I got up, did some homework, ran a couple of needed errands then went to work. Within an hour of being there, I could feel the face sinking into that “drawn” expression again. I made a cup of tea for the caffeine to keep me going through the shift (thank God my job consists of only answering phones, stuffing envelopes, and filing (mostly); were I still driving a forklift for a living, I probably would have called in). Needless to say, once all the animals were fed and safely bedded down in the barn (or their cage, depending on species), I had no trouble falling asleep.

The rest of the week has been more of the same, with each day feeling a little bit stronger, healthier, better rested.

I’m also thanking my stars–and God, of course–that this term’s class is “Intro to Art” and not something like chemistry, where I might blow the place up, or algebra (who uses this outside of classroom torture anyway???). I’d be losing that 4.0 GPA.

In addition to indulging in a few extra ZZZ’s, I’ve also been chilling while feeding my soul with some much-needed “me” time. I spent one morning pouring over some of my gardening books, planning some landscaping and/or gardening projects for next spring. I’ve also been viewing many of Jon Kohler’s “Growing Your Greens” videos on YouTube; some videos from Farnoosh Brock of Prolific Living and Prolific Juicing; videos from the folks at “Path to Freedom” and even threw in some music videos, mostly Within Temptation. In short, recharging some of the batteries.

Not quite there all the way but I’m thinking we’re well on our way. I haven’t touched the Jillian Michaels’ DVD since last week’s attempt that ended in under 10 minutes; this morning, while I didn’t “sail” through it, I managed to finish the whole beginner’s workout…and then another 30 minutes of yoga afterwards. And I actually feel more energized today. Go figure…

May God bless you & keep you!

Leave a Reply

