Another Quickie…

This morning was tough. The alarm went off at 3:30 and I didn’t have the heart to disturb Priscilla, one of my feline roommates (that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!), so I snuggled back into the pillow and enjoyed the slow rumble as I tickled her under the chin.

Like Ariel, Priscilla is another calico. She was dropped off last summer, very pregnant and very skittish. Her first morning here she bit my arm as I reached over her to clean her kitty pan. I spent several hours in the ER, received a tetanus vaccine and discovered that I am highly allergic to it as I spent an afternoon huddled under several quilts, shivering uncontrollably in 90+ temps with a fever of 106 degrees. Naturally, Mom rushed me back to the ER; I now have one of those funny bracelets with a serpent on it saying “no TDP or TDAP vaccine”; the doc says I’m better off taking my chances with tetanus next time. But Priscilla and I have obviously come a long way since then and I enjoyed the bonding this morning, Priscilla rewarding me with her patented “I-can’t-get-close-enough-to-you” nuzzling of hands and face.

When I finally crawled out of bed–about 1/2 hour later–I decided to finish the short story I’ve been working on for class. And, being the perfectionist that I am, it took me longer than anticipated but, for once, I submitted it early rather than 2 minutes to midnight on Sunday when it is due. Finding myself rapidly approaching the big 5-0 and a college student is kind of like experiencing this strange sort of time warp but I wouldn’t change a thing.

And tomorrow morning I’ll be back early. This blogging thing is addicting.

May God bless you & keep you!

Leave a Reply

