20 by November 20th

That’s my goal…20 pounds, that is.

Though I am rapidly reaching the point of no return as “middle-aged”, I refuse to give in to the legendary middle-aged spread. I have about 30 pounds of unwanted spare tire around my middle right now, but I’m shooting for 20; it’s a little less daunting. No, I’m not going to start some fad diet. Making healthier eating choices and incorporating some much-needed cardio into my daily routine will help me take it off slowly and, hopefully, help me keep it off. I’ve chosen my 50th birthday in November as my deadline to keep me from putting off taking it off.

With all this in mind, I elected to walk to work yesterday instead of driving. It’s better for me and it’s better for the environment. It also saves wear and tear on the vehicle, and saves some money on gasoline. It’s a win-win situation all around.

Driving I can leave my home 5 minutes before my shift starts and still arrive on time. Walking? It takes about 30 minutes depending on my pace. So I left the house at 8:32 a.m. and reached the dealership at 8:59 a.m. I confess to being a little winded. I’m woefully out of shape–despite the daily yoga routine–but I also enjoyed the walk. Yes, traffic was heavy on Route 6 and I probably traded some of the physical benefits of the walk with a not-so-healthy dose of carbon inhalation, but it felt good to be moving. As I normally work late afternoons, early evenings, and also Saturdays, this will likely be a Saturday only routine due to my aversion of walking a busy interstate after dark; I’m taking advantage of the track at the local ballpark for the rest of the week (I switched with a co-worker to get a much-needed 3 day weekend; I worked her Friday shift in exchange).

You walked??!?

Well, I do work at a dealership where they sell cars so maybe my fitness walk doesn’t exactly jive with the image of luxury they’re trying to promote.

You walked??

Sad that this is such an earth-shattering occupation…

And then the expected call from my Nervous Nellie, Mom. Yes, expected. I did mention the evening before that I was planning on walking to work but I could also tell during the mentioning that she wasn’t really paying attention. I had planned to leave a note to remind her but, in the mad dash to get out the door on time, I nixed the note. The call came in around 11 a.m.

“Welcome to (insert dealership name here). This is Lisa speaking. How may I direct your call?”

“Lisa, it’s Mom. Why didn’t you take the car?”

Of course, the owner was in the building so I couldn’t talk–especially on the business phone–so I had to keep it brief. She and Max the Blue Heeler were waiting for me at the foot of the driveway. Poor Mom! She thought something was wrong with the car. Now what? As Yours Truly just paid to have some major work done on it at the beginning of August, I totally understand her concern but, of course, I had to give her some gentle ribbing for being the Nervous Nellie.

“Selective Hearing? Or Selective Memory?”

She admitted to the latter. After she called me, she then remembered my telling her the evening before about the walk.

“You should have called me,” she scolded, “I could’ve picked you up from work.” (??!!?)

I think 20 pounds instead of 30 by November 20th is going to be enough of a challenge. Don’t you?

May God bless you & keep you!

Leave a Reply

