My Homesteading Blog

This is my blog for The Herbal Hare Homestead.  The Herbal Hare Homestead is in the very early stages of establishment.  It is aspiring to be an eco-friendly, sustainable and self-sufficient homestead in rural CT.  This is my blog as I walk this journey back to basics.

A typical day for me starts early, feeding 2 St. Bernards, 6 cats, 4 rabbits, 2 guinea pigs, 1 cockatiel and 1 parakeet…and the usual clean-up and other care they require.  It takes me about an hour to get it all done then it’s upstairs for some time on the inversion table, 1/2 hour of yoga and meditation, praying the rosary and prayers to each of my patron saints, the angels, God, Jesus, Mother Mary and Sophia.  Then it’s breakfast time, to read a chapter of the Bible, the usual bathroom ablutions (teeth, hair, etc.), fill the birdfeeders, walk the dogs and the morning is 3 hours’ old.  Being unemployed for the moment, the rest of my day (and a good part of my evening) has been filled with home improvements (DIY), work on my book (fiction) and also some articles, starting my own business in herbal, apian and hand-spun fiber products and working on my slowly evolving modern day homestead.

Modern day homesteading.  This is a back-to-basics lifestyle.  I have been slowly unplugging my home, using hand-operated appliances, candles, oil lamps, clotheslines and soon, a wood-burning cookstove.  What few appliances (such as PC) do require energy, are unplugged when not in use and/or Energy Star.  Rainwater harvesting and water conservation are on the list of future projects.  Using a bicycle, walking instead of driving (less fossil fuel usage…yay!) and, when possible, public transportation are other goals.   And I’ve recently learned something about aquaponics.  I will explain more later as I learn more about it.

My property is just under an acre in size.  1/4 of it, including my front lawn, is being turned over for the raising of fruits, veggies and herbs to support my pesco-vegetarian diet using raised beds, container gardening, companion planting, crop rotation, vertical gardening (trellises, arbors, etc.), compost/vermicomposting, and natural pest control in the form of chickens and ducks (also for the egg production and free organic fertilizer!).  3/4 of an acre being given over to Pygora/Pycazz goats and Olde English Babydoll sheep (small breeds/small quantities), and Angora rabbits for fiber for hand-spinning and weaving. My first honeybees have been ordered for honey, beeswax candles and mead.  And my property is home to several maple trees for the syrup.  Natural rearing/diet for the animals.  I am an herbalist, having studied under Michael Ford of Apollo Herbs and Michael & Leslie Tierra of East West Herbs.  I am a Writer, Reflexologist, Reiki Master Teacher, Angel Light Messenger, I play guitar, dulcimer, sing, love acting and am fluent in American Sign Language.  I am hoping to add Tellington Touch, Ayurvedic medicine and homeopathy to the list and also petsitting as means of income.  I am hoping to add a little of this and a little of that and hope it all adds up.  In this economy with jobs being scarce, there’s nothing to lose and possibly everything to gain by living a more self-sufficient, self-supporting lifestyle.

This is my blog chronicling this journey.

Leave a Reply

